Third Times A Charm

This post has only taken me almost a week to write but I can’t quite find the right words. But this morning as I drove around town running errands I was reminded of what a dear friend once told me, something I’ve forgotten about until just a few hours ago. “Be the good you wish to see in the world.” What an incredible, freeing, depressing thing to think but it’s the truth. 

How many of us in today’s society go about our everyday lives not giving a care about the strangers around us? Just this week I was using the restroom at a local store. As I came out of the stall I noticed a girl sitting in the corner of the restroom. While washing my hands I stole a sideways glance at her and noticed an heartbreaking detail, fresh cuts on her one of her arms. 

In the moment a million things flooded mind. I wanted to hug her and tell her everything was going to be okay. To warn her that in a few years time she will regret what she has done to her body, that this horrible, addicting habit will stay with you for the rest of your life. But as the bathroom began to crowd I chose to say nothing and with one more glace at her this time making eye contact I left.

Although this is an experience is only a few days old this is something I will regret for the rest of my life because I failed to be the good I want to see in the world. But today is a new day and so is tomorrow, another chance to be a light in a dark world. To the girl that will forever be in my memory I’m sorry that I failed but never again will I make that mistake. And if we meet again I will give you the biggest, tightest hug you will ever experience.

Peace&Love,

Rachel

About railynnt

This is my blog, a place where I can share my writing and journey through recovery, mental illness, and life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Third Times A Charm

  1. Karen Myers says:

    Rachel, that is a very thoughtful and heartfelt writing. I love your sweet spirit!

    Like

Leave a Reply

