Short Thanksgiving Note

Happy Thanksgiving, in less than a week that’s all I hear and read on Facebook. Which isn’t a bad thing; I’m glad to know that my friends and family are thankful for me and being in their lives. But to be perfectly honest I can’t understand what makes today any more special than the average day.

Yes, I celebrate Thanksgiving every year with my family, I have since I was little but I don’t see it as a holiday. Yes, it is one of the few days my whole family gathers in one room. And even through all the political debates, different views, and tension you could cut with a knife it is a nice time. However it does seem less special than some of my friend’s experiences because I’m not drive five hundred and seventy two miles or boarding a plane to go see them. I’m simply crossing the street.

I try to let the people in my life know that I love them and am incredibly blessed to have them in my life on a regular basis. You think that people would do that every day. But surprisingly many people only do it at this time of year. What about in the summer when you’re in a car accident and come out of it unharmed, shouldn’t you be thankful then to and thankful that you have more time to be with the ones you love?

I always make an effort to let the important people in my life know how much they mean to me. Whether, it’s by hugging them, telling them I love them, or just letting them know how amazing and beautiful they are. I make an effort because the scary truth is, you don’t know when the last time you see someone is going to be, so why not make it a good memory?

So ok, I was wrong. I do celebrate Thanksgiving but I celebrate it every day. ♥

Happy Thanksgiving.

About railynnt

This is my blog, a place where I can share my writing and journey through recovery, mental illness, and life.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

