Learning From Mistakes

Being that it is already a week into 2015 I thought it was about time that I posted something on this blog. However that is a lot easier said than done especially when Satan has personally sent you a migraine from Hell complete with vomiting and cold sweats, along with a heaping side dish of depression.

However when I woke up this morning I was reminded as to why it’s so easy to hide away in bed all day, away from the chaos of the world. Every night I pray for the world, for Ferguson, for Syria, for all the homeless children tricked and sold into slavery everyday, and for all the great people in our world fighting for equality. And tonight I will also pray for Paris.

It seems that no matter how far I run or how hard I try to hide from this fact, we live in a violent world. And I don’t know what scares me most the idea that my generation seems doomed to following into the mistakes of our baby boomers parents or that the children that are yet to be born will be even worse off than people my age are.

History is doomed to repeat itself if we don’t learn from it. Something I  feel we fail to do in society. Like most people I don’t like to be reminded of my mistakes but if I’m not how can I and others learn from them?

We as a world cannot continue to pretend that groups such as the KKK, the Nazi’s, and ISIS never did and still don’t exist. We cannot continue to pretend that Vietnam, World War II, the Civil War, and the mistakes that lead to them never happened because if we do we will only repeat them.

People like to trick themselves and others into believing that all these terrible things happened long ago but the Civil Rights Movement was only 50 years ago and still we are struggling for equal rights across the nation and around the world.

Things don’t just go away because we want them to. It’s time that we as a nation grow up and face our mistakes and do our damnist to fix them.

Peace&Love,

Rai

About railynnt

This is my blog, a place where I can share my writing and journey through recovery, mental illness, and life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

