First Toast Masters Speech: Introduction Speech

When I first tried to think of what to share about myself for this speech I couldn’t think of anything because I can’t read your minds. I don’t know if you care that I have a twin sister or that my favorite color is pink.  I’m not sure if you’re interested in knowing that sometimes I wake up in the middle of the night and can’t go back to sleep because my mind has decided to turn back on after only a few hours of sleep.

And even though there’s so much I don’t know I am certain of one thing, my passions. I am a very passionate, stubborn, and opinionated person. I know what I believe in and won’t compromise my beliefs for anything.

The one thing I firmly believe in? Sharing my story. And to quote an amazing woman Malala who is not afraid to share her own story, “I shared mine not because it is rare but because it is common.” Last week told you that I am in recovery from an eating disorder. The fact is that 1 out of 10 people struggle with an eating disorder. Most people do not look like thy have an eating disorder because they are either an “average” weight or overweight which makes it often hard to receive treatment because insurances will often only admit someone who is in the underweight category or they pay for treatment for a while and it runs out within a few weeks. I want to change that.

People sometimes ask me why I talk about it all the time but that’s because there is not a day that goes by that I am not affected by my eating disorder. But I don’t want to confuse you with the idea that I am my eating disorder because my eating disorder doesn’t own me. There are other things about me to. I’m a twin, my favorite color is pink, when my younger sister, twin, and I all stand together we look like triplets. I’m stubborn, almost to a flaw, almost, but not quite. I love to read. I love to write, and want to be a published author and public speaker and that’s why I joined Toast Masters.

Peace&Love,

Rai

About railynnt

This is my blog, a place where I can share my writing and journey through recovery, mental illness, and life.
This entry was posted in Speeches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First Toast Masters Speech: Introduction Speech

  1. Carrie Bush says:

    And THAT’S your speech! That’s all you have to say! I’m so stoked that you’re beginning Toast Masters. It will do amazing things for you I believe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

