I Miss Her

So it’s happened. Almost one month ago my best friend since kindergarten moved half way across the country. We’ve spent 15 years attached to each others hip. I can’t image what it will like to not see her at least once a week. I remember a few years ago when She traveled to Hawaii for a vacation with her family for 2 weeks and before even the first week had passed she was texting me telling me how badly she missed me.

But that’s the funny thing about growing up, as we age we develop our own lives. We get married, have kids, start a career. My mom assures me that it’s all normal and part of being in our 20’s but it doesn’t make it any easier.

Still I’m thrilled for her. She’s fallen in love and married a man I greatly approve of. (Which is all that matters, right?) The day before they were set to leave I was helping them pack the last of their things. While it was slightly heartbreaking I really enjoyed watch my best friend and her husband interact. You can tell they truly love each other. Plus I love how he pesters her. It makes me laugh! I also can’t forget about their puppy who I always joke about claiming I’m going to miss the most.

Although it does feel odd having gone so long without seeing her. This is new territory for both of us. We’ve been privileged to have grown up within blocks of each other and to have parents who have graciously embraced each of us as their own.

I miss my friend no, my sister but that’s okay. We both always have wanted to move out on our own and explore the world. She just gets to go first. I’ll be following soon enough.

Peace&Love,

Rai

About railynnt

This is my blog, a place where I can share my writing and journey through recovery, mental illness, and life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

