Love and Respect Your Body

“Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body.” -1 Corinthians 6:19-20

The Bible commands us to treat our bodies as temples of God to show glory to Him. Something I have fought with for most of my life whether with my eating disorder or self-injury. But as I’ve traveled the road of recovery I’ve struggled to find a balance between treating my body with the respect it deserves and being healthy.

Many people will argue that by simply being fat I am committing a horrible sin. For how can a fat person have any respect for themselves? Being obese is seen as a sin even in the eyes of the nonbelievers. It is a crime that many are condemned to before they even have a chance to explain themselves.

That is something I am experiencing with doctors. As I deal with my gallbladder issues I have faced two doctors now that lecture me on my weight not even giving the impression that the believe me when I say I’ve lost 20lbs or that I am in recovery from a eating disorder. Instead they simply continue to pressure me to calorie count and risk relapse simply so I might be thin and please society.

I have been called a hypocrite as a Christian for being fat and have had to awkwardly sit in church while my church family obsess over their weight and follow a Christian weight loss Bible study. But how is it that I’m the bad guy when millions of thin people have the same eating and exercise habits, or lack there of.

Are they not sinners too or are they immune because God has given them a thin temple instead of a big one? Who really is the hypocrite? Me or the ones that prosecute me?

Peace&Love,

Rai

About railynnt

This is my blog, a place where I can share my writing and journey through recovery, mental illness, and life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

