I Quit

It’s hard when the people that are supposed to love you don’t support your dreams and want you to only live the most basic life because of their fears.

I have been accepted to my dream school in New York for a degree I’ve always wanted to earn. I want to do my best and learn everything I can at that school. However, a member in my family who is supposed to love and accept me is making it near impossible to do so.

The man in question would be more than satisfied with me working retail for the rest of my life, most likely living at home too because you can’t not live a product life on minimum wage even at full time, and staying in my own isolated world.

M world is very small. My only friend moved to Indiana ten months ago and since then it’s been  hard. Coworkers are friendly enough but you can only go so far with work relationships and I am the only person my age at my church besides my twin sister.

It may seem obvious to think that you meet so many people working retail, and you do. But they’re gone withing fifteen minutes and you can’t pick them out of a line up at the end of the day even if you had to. Retail is actually a very lonely and exhausting job. One I can’t imagine working for the rest of my life.

If we’re honest for a moment, I would rather die then continue living the way I am now. Alone, in a dead end job, and living in a home environment that I can hardly bear.

Peace&Love,

Rai

About railynnt

This is my blog, a place where I can share my writing and journey through recovery, mental illness, and life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

