Why I Voted For A Woman

I voted for a woman today. I won’t bore you with how monumental that is or how life changing it will be for so many little girls but I will tell you why I voted for that nasty woman.

I voted for my gay friends, for my black friends, for my trans friends, for my fellow fatties. I vote for my friends and their immigrant parents, My disabled friends, I voted for the homeless, the addicted, the “ugly’ side of America that no one likes to talk about. Because believe it or not most of us don’t come from white upper middle class families.

When I voted I said “no” to the KKK and the Nazi regime. I said, “no” to the people who think it’s okay to treat others horrible and less than human because they aren’t what they consider “normal.”

I said, “no” to the idea that women are simply objects for men to treat and dispose of as they wish. I screamed, “no” to sexual assault, rape, and the idea that men who treat women in such ways are only “being men” and that it’s simply “locker room” talk. I said no to rating women on a scale and looking down at them if they’re less than a 7.

As a proud Christian I said, “no” to fear and “yes” to love. But I shouldn’t have to put such an emphasize on that. It should be an every day thing to everyone religious or not. Through this presidential election I have seen only hate and now I’m ready to spread love.

Peace&Love,

Rai

 

 

About railynnt

This is my blog, a place where I can share my writing and journey through recovery, mental illness, and life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

